Flashback: Marvel Comics, NYC: Internship 1994

While reorganizing a whole bunch of photo-albums and other miscellaneous stuff last night, I came across these photos from 1993-94!  During my time at Cardinal Stritch University, I was an illustration major, doggedly determined to become a professional comicbook artist.  I was sure enough of my future that during my junior year of study, I went to New York City for my Christmas break, and spent the month doing an unpaid internship at Marvel Comics.

I lived at a youth hostel up on about 104th, just west of Central Park.  Each morning, I would take the subway to work like everyone else, except I was bound for Park Avenue South—home of the wondrous Marvel Comics.  I was an office grunt–xerox this, get a cup of coffee–all low-level stuff.  That might not have seemed too cool, but I was at MARVEL, in NEW YORK CITY.  It was a great month and here’s a few snapshots from that experience…Make Mine Marvel!

Pictured below are:

  • Marcus McLaurin (green shirt) and Spencer Lamm (long hair), they were the two editors I worked for.  They edited a line of comics called “The Barkerverse”, a line of books based on concepts created by Clive Barker, and they also edited, most famously, “MARVELS” by Kurt Busiek and Alex Ross.
  • Me, in their office.  Usually I just sat on a folding chair. 🙂
  • Here is the legendary Marvel Bullpen where books got lettered, inked and drawn; art got corrected and colored; there was just tons of activity going on here.
  • In 1994, Cyclops and Jean Grey of the X-men got married.  At the holiday party, Stan Lee conducted a wedding ceremony while various heroes and villains looked on!
  • Here is a great, badly-focused pic of me and one of my favorite comicbook writers, Larry Hama.

Marvel

Marcus McLaurin

Larry Hama

Leave a comment