Test Drive: Olympus TG870

Each of the compact cameras I’ve tried recently have had some characteristic that made it stand out in a unique way. The Canon G9x – a large sensor and fast glass. The Fuji X90 – tough and quite affordable. The Leica C – slim design and a fine lens. Now, the Olympus TG870 has a few aspects that make it quite unique and desirable (and probably my favorite of the cameras I’ve tried in the last few months).

I’ve always been a sucker for wide-angle lenses, and the TG870 has the widest lens I’ve seen on a compact camera – 20mm equivalent! A good ultra-wide of that length can make for some fun dramatic photos. The camera also features an articulated LCD-screen that makes taking self-portraits really easy. Also, like many cameras, the TG870 has fun filters you can play with to change up your photos. Oh yeah, this camera is also a “tough” camera – something that Olympus has long been a pioneer in. So, not only only does this camera have an exceptional wide-angle lens and an articulated view screen, you can also take it underwater or drop it, and not worry about breaking it!

The camera is a good performer, but it is definitely best at the wide-angle end, while the telephoto end seems average, at best.

While I had this camera, I got to spend some time with one of my nieces, and my newest nephew! So, for family times, outdoor times, all-around-times, this camera did a great job and was fun to work with!

So, if you’re looking for a neat, tough, compact camera, come buy one from me at Mike Crivello’s!

 

Leave a Reply

