Early morning hike in the MKE

This past month, my friend, Linda, and I went on another hike – but this time, and “urban hike” across Milwaukee. And, AND, it was in the middle of the night!

Brew City Safari offers a unique experience – walks around Milwaukee at its wee hours. We met at the corner of Wisconsin Ave. and Water St. at 3:30 a.m. About 20 people were there and as soon as everyone was checked in, we set off to the west. The goal was to hike through downtown, along the Menomonee Valley, and end at the Old Soldiers’ Home – a total of about 6.5 miles!

It was a neat experience, and I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to expect. It wasn’t a walking tour – our guide didn’t narrate or stop at particular locations to talk. It was a walk and an exploration, but a “monitored” one that made everyone feel a bit less nervous about walking around town at that time.

I did make some good photos, I think – with my Olympus E-M1 and the 12-40/2.8 lens and 12-50/3.5-6.3 lens I borrowed. I wanted to see if there was much quality difference (none that I could really notice – both were good, but distinct from each other, lenses).

Leave a Reply

