I’m not one for gimmicks, but: Olympus E-M1

As cameras get more advanced, it seems like many people are looking for simpler and simpler cameras. Manufacturers try to squeeze every combination of features into a camera, and users get more overwhelmed with trying to figure out how to use the devices. “I just want to take good photos of my kids”, “I wish it were simpler” – these are phrases I hear pretty often at my part-time job as a photo-sales clerk. So, most of the time, when I read about new features, I’m actually trying to think of the easiest way to help a person >avoid<using it, unless they really demonstrate an aptitude and desire to figure it out.

Imagine my surprise, with my recently-acquired Olympus E-M1, when I keep turning to their “art filters” feature, and the fun I’ve been having with it. I don’t use many of the filters, to be honest, but their “Dramatic Tone” filter, with its accompanying sub-sets, has been pretty dang fun. Check out these photos – b/w conversion and editing all done in-camera, most of it BY the camera!

(as ever, if you’d like to learn more about Olympus cameras, come out and talk to me or the other folks at Mike Crivello’s Cameras)

Leave a Reply

