Test Drive: Sigma 18-35mm/f1.8 (Iron Horse Hotel and Engine Company No.3)

This past weekend, I got to take neat lens out for a brief test-drive – the Sigma 18-35mm/f1.8. What a remarkable, fast-aperture lens that is. It is solidly built, has nicely dampened zoom- and focus-rings. It seemed like taking this lens to the Iron Horse Hotel‘s “Repeal Prohibition” Party would be a good place to try it out. People were dressed up in their best, there were burlesque dancers, and I got to spend some time hanging out with my friends – Rachel and Amy! It was a real fun night, as I think the photos show!

The following morning, I took the lens and my Nikon D7000 out for a short run, and then brought it with me to Engine Company No. 3 for brunch with Chris, Joh, and Cheryl! A great brunch was had, and good pics were made!

I was real impressed with this lens. If you need a fast-aperture, wide-angle lens for a crop-sensor DSLR, definitely look into it!

Leave a Reply

