a tie-tack

This past weekend, I went out to Mayville, to celebrate my Dad’s birthday. When Rachel and I got there, we had an excellent evening – lots of great talk, card games, and some watching of old home movies. The interesting highlight though, was when Dad offered me a plastic baggie of old things he was considering getting rid of. The baggie included a watch of his father’s that didn’t work anymore and a monogrammed tie-tack he was given when he stood up in a wedding years ago, but had never worn.

Now I have the watch that doesn’t work and the tie-tack that’s never been worn. Well, it’s been worn once now, because I wore it out to dinner with Rachel the very next night, to celebrate a year of knowing each other.

Leave a Reply

