Test Drive: Nikon P300

Well, this post is overdue  – I tried the Nikon P300 out last summer (and now the P310 is available)! Honest to goodness, I thought I’d already posted something about this camera! Well, better late than never!

This nifty little camera is really pretty special. It’s got a 4x zoom – 24mm-100mm equivalent, and at the 24mm end, has a max aperture of f1.8! I think Nikon wants this cam to be their pocket-camera for the more discerning photographer. It’s not as big as the P7000 or P7100, nor does it allow for capturing RAW files. It does though, have that fast aperture (f1.8-4.9), manual exposure modes (P, S, A, M), and has a really nice, simple layout of controls. If I were in need of a P&S camera, this is the one I think I’d go for!

It IS available at Mike Crivello Cameras, of course!

Leave a Reply

