Test drive: Nikon J1

Last week I got to spend a little time playing with the Nikon J1 and 10-30mm lens. This camera system is a bit of a strange one to me. It’s sensor is bigger than your average point-and-shoot, but smaller than a DSLR, while maintaining the flexibility that comes with an interchangeable lens system. It’s a pretty stream-lined little number and attempts a sort of “futuristic” look in terms of its appearance and its features. I used it mostly in a pretty straight-forward Aperture Priority mode.

Overall, I was real pleased with the camera. It was easy to use – as long as you didn’t mind it’s menu-driven basis. I used the J1 in low and high ISOs and it seemed to perform pretty admirably in both of them. The 10-30mm lens was pretty nice too. I wish it had a faster aperture, but it seemed plenty sharp enough.

– – – –

I took the camera out to an event at Turner Hall, “Sexy Results“, and to a gallery open-house at the Nut Factory. My friend, Rachel Wilberding, and I ran into a number of other creatives that evening – – actor Thomas Dillon, advocate Natalie Berland, artists Shana McCaw and Brent Budsberg, photographer Andrea Bartley. The night out even got us a mention in the “Boris and Doris” column!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Test drive: Nikon J1

  1. You could make great images with a comb and cassette of film, Troy.

    When I did my seasonal gig at BestBuy – Nikon gave us no support on selling the camera. We were told that an adapter to put REAL Nikon lenses on the camera would come – but not be cheap.The cameras for stock all arrived AFTER Xmas – had to create a buzz if stores didn’t have them.

    Personally the Sony NEX cameras and the little Olympus EPM camera – impressed me more. Both were in short supply at Xmas – but better than none.

    As a near life long Nikonian – their plus $2000 cameras seem best – but I can’t afford one.

    BTW – am dealing with jr college students trying to make movies on Canon T2i and 70D cameras – both good for web videos but the users don’t understand sound and lighting. They appreciate me dragging out my Lowell kits for their shoots but still don’t get lighting subtleties…

Leave a Reply

