Personal Work: High School Influences

These portraits are a couple years old now, but I haven’t posted them before, plus I’m pretty fond of them, so that’s two good reasons to show them, as far as I’m concerned.

A few years ago, I got to thinking about what teachers of mine have been serious influences in my personal development.  I concluded that, from high school, there were two teachers that stood out: Mr. Reehl and Mr. Holt.  I made some phone-calls and soon drove out to Mayville High School to make portraits of these men.

Mr. Reehl was my band instructor; he was the first band instructor I had, back when I started playing drums in Beginning Band, in 5th Grade.  He was my last band instructor, when I spent my entire high school career playing in the Senior Band.  This love of performing, of feeling the joy of music led me to forming a pep band in college at Cardinal Stritch University.

The other instructor I chose was Mr. Holt, who like Mr. Reehl, I had a long history with.  He was my homeroom teacher for all 4 years of high school, taught me Introductory Physical Science when I was a freshman, and Advanced Physiology when I was a senior.  He was a tough teacher, but also had a good sense of humor; he knew when to be serious and when to lighten the mood.  Mr. Holt firmly believed in the importance of studying your notes EVERYDAY.  I took that lesson to heart and it really made a difference in my learning.

I’m so glad I got to visit these gentlemen, and that they I was able to visit them years after graduating, and make their portraits.

For the technically-minded, these were shot with a Bronica GS-1 6×7 camera.

Leave a Reply

